Corfu, orange trees, greece

Oranges are Not the Only Fruit…..

When  Jeanette Winterson claimed that oranges were not the only fruit, my guess is she has never spent a winter on Corfu. Oranges are everywhere, every road you drive down, every piece of land you look across, oranges, oranges, oranges! It is said we have over 3 million olive trees here on Corfu, I’d love to know how many citrus trees we have, it must be a close run thing.

The first winter that I was living in a house that had orange trees in the garden I was delighted. What better than freshly squeezed juice every morning I exclaimed joyfully to the kids. By week three we were all bright orange, apparently, you can have too much of a good thing, let alone the side effects of too much vitamin C, (google it), that made me wish we lived in a house with more than one bathroom and had slightly fewer trees.

So I began the search for things to do with oranges, marmalade sprang to mind, I don’t know why as I can’t stand the stuff. Undeterred I found a recipe and made pots and pots of it, which then sat festering in my kitchen cupboards until I moved house. Needless to say, I found all sorts of bizarre uses for the fruit but I have to say, the only one that stuck with me is the following recipe for an orange cake, which my kids still ask me for and indeed I made just yesterday.

It is a foolproof, delicious and moist, (or should I say juicy?), way to use up 3 oranges, 6 if you fancy filling your freezer, but don’t just take my word for it, give it a whirl.

 

Ingredients

3 Oranges

210g Caster Sugar

4 tbsp buttermilk (I just use regular)

3 eggs

250g Self Raising Flour

50ml Olive Oil

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 180c/Gas 4/350F – Grease a loaf tin
  2. Grate the zest from 2 of the oranges and then juice all 3.
  3. Process the sugar and zest until finely combined.
  4. Combine the milk and the juice in a mixing bowl.
  5. Mix in the sugar/zest and add eggs one by one.
  6. Now stir in the olive oil.
  7. Finally, sieve in flour and mix until combined.

Then all you need to do is pour it into the prepared tin and bake for around 50 minutes and voilà, you have a perfect and rather scrummy orange cake….or two.

All I have to do now is find many similar uses for the lemons dripping off the three trees I have in my current garden, lemon curd anyone?

 

 

Leave a Reply

